Skip to main content
Program News

PL's Susannah Washburn Receives Donna Hamilton Teaching Award

Susannah Washburn, the director of College Park Scholars' Public Leadership program, was recently awarded the 2024 Donna B. Hamilton Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in the Office of Undergraduate Studies (UGST) Programs. She becomes the fourth College Park Scholars program director to earn the honor, following Dr. Elisabeth Maring, who leads the Global Public Health program (2022), Kalyani Chadha, former director of Media, Self and Society (2015) and David A. Crocker, former director of the Public Leadership program (2012).

The awards are named in honor of Donna B. Hamilton, former Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean for Undergraduate Studies. A Professor Emerita in the English department and previous Associate Dean in the College of Arts and Humanities, Dr. Hamilton was the 2015 recipient of the President's Medal.

One of her nominators explained the impact she has had on their undergraduate career. "Prof. Washburn's influence extends far beyond the classroom, leaving an impact on me that will last into my career and future. Her dedication to fostering a culture of critical thinking and collaboration instilled the importance of lifelong learning and active citizenship; I know I will continue to apply the skills and knowledge in my personal and professional life... Moreover, her mentorship and support have empowered me to pursue my passions and strive for excellence in everything I do."

Based on undergraduate student nominations, the Office of Undergraduate Studies recognizes two faculty members for excellence in teaching each year: one faculty member teaching in an Undergraduate Studies Program, and one faculty member teaching in a General Education Program. The two recognized faculty will receive $1,000 cash awards and will be acknowledged in a ceremony held at the end of each Spring semester.

Back to Top